This document sets out our policy for responding to requests for deletion of data under the
GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation), which comes into force in May 2018. This
document explains the rights of the data subject in relation to data deletion and the
responsibilities of BELBIN in responding with such a request.
2. Individual Rights
An individual has the right to erasure, also known as ‘the right to be forgotten’. The principle
underpinning this right is to enable an individual to request the deletion or removal of
personal data where there is no compelling reason for its continued processing.
3. When does the right to erasure apply?
As stipulated in the GDPR, individuals have a right to have personal data erased and to prevent
processing in specific circumstances:
• Where the personal data is no longer necessary in relation to the purpose for which it
was originally collected/processed;
• When the individual withdraws consent;
• When the individual objects to the processing and there is no other legal ground for the
relevant processing activity;
• When the personal data was unlawfully processed;
• Where the personal data has to be erased in order to comply with a legal obligation.
4. What information does BELBIN retain?
The BELBIN online system “Interplace” stores data about individuals in order to create a Team
Role Report. We store the name, e-mail address, gender, organisation/department (if
provided) and subsequent Team Role scores for each individual in order to create a report,
which is stored on our secure servers in the UK for a period of 90 days. This data is stored and
If consent is provided, personal data (including the above, plus address, telephone number and
notes) may be stored in our CRM system for the purposes of contacting you regarding BELBIN
news, products and promotions.
5. How can data be deleted?
A system administrator (individual user acting on behalf of their organization) can delete data
from their Interplace system whenever they wish. This data is deleted from the system
immediately and cannot be recovered by any users or BELBIN employees after this point. Data
which has been deleted or otherwise destroyed can not be recovered at any time. Sufficient
warning is given to the account administrator before they permanently delete anything.